Cardinal virtues to gain wisdom


Those who want to know the truth of the universe
should practice the four cardinal virtues.

The first one is reverence for all life; this manifests as
unconditional love and respect for oneself and all
other beings.

The second is natural sincerity; this manifests as
honesty, simplicity, and faithfulness.

The third is gentleness; this manifests as kindness,
consideration for others, and sensitivity to spiritual

The fourth is supportiveness; this manifests as service
to others without expectation of reward.

The four virtues are not an external dogma but a part
of your original nature.

When practiced, they give birth to wisdom and evoke
the five blessings: health, wealth, happiness,
longevity, and peace.

From the “Hua Hu Ching” Chapter 51 – by Lao Tzu translated by Brian Walker.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.